About Us

JARUS is a group of experts from the National Aviation Authorities (NAAs) and regional aviation safety organizations.

JARUS recommends technical, safety, and operational requirements to safely integrate Unmanned Aircraft Systems (UAS) into aviation.

JARUS provides guidance material to facilitate each authority to write their own requirements and avoid duplicated efforts.

JARUS has 66 member organizations, 64 countries, as well as EASA and EUROCONTROL.The industry is highly involved through the Industry Stakeholders body (ISB).JARUS is now lead by Chair Giovanni Di Antonio, Italy, and Vice-Chair Craig Bloch-Hansen & Vice Chair Catalin , from Canada.The JARUS Secretariat is headed by Secretary General LIU Hao, from China .

The purpose of JARUS, as stated in our Terms of Reference, is “to recommend a single set of technical, safety and operational requirements for all aspects linked to the safe operation of the Unmanned Aircraft Systems (UAS).This requires review and consideration of existing regulations and other material applicable to manned aircraft, the analysis of the specific tasks linked to UAS and the drafting of material to cover the unique features of UAS”.The JARUS guidance material aims to facilitate each authority to write their own requirements and avoid duplicated efforts.

As of July 2023: Australia, Austria,Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada,Camaroom,China, Colombia, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark,EASA,Eurocontrol,Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany,Ghana, Greece,India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan,Kazakhstan, Kenya, Latvia, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta, Montenegro, The Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Republic of Azerbaijan, Republic of Korea, Republic of Macedonia, Republic of Serbia, Republic of Moldova, Republic of Slovenia, Romania, Russia, Rwanda, Singapore, Slovak Republic, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Uruguay and the United States of America.

Joint Authorities for Rulemaking on Unmanned Systems