Who We Are

JARUS Members

JARUS is a group of experts gathering regulatory expertise from all around the world.

At present, 63 countries [1] and the European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA) and EUROCONTROL are contributing to the development of JARUS work products. 

The Stakeholder Consultation Body (SCB), representing all industry communities of interest, was established to allow stakeholders the opportunity to support JARUS activities.

JARUS Purpose

The purpose of JARUS, as stated in our Terms of Reference, is “to recommend a single set of technical, safety and operational requirements for all aspects linked to the safe operation of the Unmanned Aircraft Systems (UAS).

This requires review and consideration of existing regulations and other material applicable to manned aircraft, the analysis of the specific tasks linked to UAS and the drafting of material to cover the unique features of UAS”.

The JARUS guidance material aims to facilitate each authority to write their own requirements and avoid duplicated efforts.


[1] As of March 2020: Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, China, Colombia, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Kenya, Latvia, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Montenegro, The Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Republic of Azerbaijan, Republic of Korea, Republic of Serbia, Republic of Moldova, Republic of Slovenia, Romania, Russia, Rwanda, Singapore, Slovak Republic,  South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Uruguay and the United States of America.